Skip Menu

What is rural rate relief

Rural rate relief was introduced to help protect the last occupied retail outlets and similar services in rural settlements with a population of less than 3,000. Each year the Council updates its Rural Settlement List.

Under the scheme the following businesses in designated rural settlements are entitled to 50% mandatory relief:

  • The sole village shop, post office or food shop with a rateable value of up to £8,500
  • The sole public house or petrol station with a rateable value of up to £12,500

At the Autumn Statement 2016, the Chancellor of the Exchequer confirmed that rural rate relief would double from 50% to 100% from 1 April 2017.

The Government intends to amend the relevant primary legislation to require local authorities to grant 100% mandatory rural rate relief, but as a temporary measure has given the Council the discretion to award up to 100% rural rate relief to eligible business rate payers.

The Council continues to support eligible business ratepayers by exercising this discretion.

To apply for this reduction, please contact us on

Discretionary rural rate relief

In addition, the Council is able to award up to 100% rate relief to any business in a qualifying rural settlement provided it has a rateable value of £16,500 or less and it is in the interests of the local community that the relief is granted.

If you would like more information about discretionary rural rate relief please contact us on

Rural settlement list

The Rural Settlement List for Tewkesbury Borough Council from 31 December 2020 is shown below:

  • Alderton
  • Ashleworth
  • Badgeworth
  • Boddington
  • Buckland
  • Chaceley
  • Deerhurst
  • Down Hatherley
  • Dumbleton
  • Elmstone Hardwicke
  • Forthampton
  • Gotherington
  • Great Witcombe
  • Gretton
  • Hasfield
  • Hawling
  • Highnam
  • Leigh
  • Maisemore
  • Minsterworth
  • Norton
  • Oxenton
  • Prescott
  • Sandhurst
  • Snowshill
  • Stanton
  • Staverton
  • Stoke Orchard
  • Sudeley
  • Tirley
  • Toddington
  • Twigworth
  • Twyning
  • Uckington