38 newly-elected borough councillors – 16 new, 22 returning – attended the first annual general meeting of Council last night (17 May 2023) where the new Mayor, Councillor Ian Yates, led proceedings to elect a new leader, deputy leader and other lead roles.

Councillor Richard Stanley, who represents Cleeve West ward, was elected as Tewkesbury Borough Council’s leader. Addressing his fellow councillors, he said:

“I would like to congratulate everyone on their election and welcome all new and re-elected councillors. The people of Tewkesbury Borough have put their trust in all of us to represent them; our wards are all unique and we all bring a different insight and knowledge of our communities that deserve to be heard and respected.

“I want to start this council how we wish to go on: by telling the residents of our borough that we are already listening. This is why we are pausing the Tewkesbury Garden Town programme pending the outcome of a full external review. I am clear that if the Garden Town project is to succeed it must be done in partnership with the surrounding communities and local parish councils.

“Balancing the need for housing, managing growth fairly and protecting existing communities is a key challenge of our council. We have to deliver for residents and communities, and it is crucial we develop our strategic plans to protect our housing land supply.

“I very much look forward to working with all of you. Leading the largest party in a no-overall-control council will certainly not be without its challenges but we are up for that challenge and determined to bring positive change for our borough.”

Councillor Sarah Hands, who represents the Innsworth ward, was elected as deputy leader of the council.


Lead member portfolios:

Economic Development / Promotion: Councillor Richard Stanley

Finance and Asset Management: Councillor Stewart Dove

Corporate Governance: Councillor Christopher Coleman

Customer Focus: Councillor Mike Sztymiak

Staff and Culture: Councillor Debbie Harwood

Built Environment: Councillor Mary Jordan

Clean and Green Environment: Councillor Sarah Hands

Community: Councillor Cate Cody

Housing, Health and Wellbeing: Councillor Alex Hegenbarth



Overview and Scrutiny

Chair: Councillor Matt Dimond-Brown

Audit and Governance

Chair: Councillor Murray Stewart


Chair: Councillor Paul Smith


Chair: Councillor Paul Ockelton


Chair: Councillor Elaine MacTiernan

Councillor Richard Stanley, leader of Tewkesbury Borough Council

Category: Planning